Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.

News > OC Sports News > OCs Go Head To Head

OCs Go Head To Head

John McKee (11678) And Connor McKee (9353) Faced Each Other On Friday At Energie Park
Connor Rankin Leveling the Scores to 14 - 14
Connor Rankin Leveling the Scores to 14 - 14

The Ireland U20s, sponsored by PwC, stepped up their preparations for the rescheduled U20 Six Nations when they faced Leinster ‘A’ at Energia Park on Friday the 28th of May.

Head Coach Richie Murphy, along with Assistant Coaches Colm Tucker and Denis Leamy, have been working with an extended squad at the IRFU High Performance Centre this week, as Ireland continue to build towards the Championship in Cardiff.

The extended squad of 32 players features 8 Ulster lads with Queen’s University’s James Humphreys, Conor McKee (9353), George Saunderson, and Oscar Egan included alongside Banbridge’s Ben Carson, Malone’s Conor Rankin, Ballynahinch’s Reuben Crothers and Harry Sheridan who is at Dublin University.

Joe McCarthy, who featured in the Ireland second row during last season’s U20 Six Nations campaign, Captained the side on Friday, with Richie Murphy hoping to maximise the playing opportunities for his panel over the course of the 80 minutes.

Commenting ahead of Friday’s game, the Head Coach said:

We’ve had two really positive camps at the High Performance Centre, and the group is making good progress in our preparations for the Six Nations campaign. Friday’s game against Leinster ‘A’ will be an important step for us in our preparations, as we look to implement the hard work on the training pitch into a match situation.

Ireland open their Six Nations campaign against Scotland at Cardiff Arms Park on 19 June, before facing Wales in Round 2 on 25 June and then play England on 1 July, before concluding the Championship with ties against Italy on 7 July and France on 13 July.

Ireland U20 (from): Chris Cosgrave (UCD RFC/Leinster), Chay Mullins (Bristol Bears/IQ Rugby), Jamie Osborne (Naas RFC/Leinster), Ben Carson (Banbridge RFC/Ulster), Shane Jennings (Buccaneers RFC/Connacht), Cian Whooley (UCC RFC/Munster), Ben Murphy (Old Wesley RFC/Leinster), Jack Boyle (UCD RFC/Leinster), Ronan Loughnane (UCD RFC/Leinster), Sam Illo (Old Wesley RFC/Leinster), Harry Sheridan (Dublin University FC/Ulster), Joe McCarthy (Dublin University FC/Leinster), Donnacha Byrne (Sligo RFC/Connacht), Diarmuid McCormack (Dublin University FC/Connacht), Daniel Okeke (Shannon RFC/Munster), Jamie Shanahan (Garryowen FC/Munster), Conor Rankin (Malone RFC/Ulster), Alan Flannery (Shannon RFC/Munster), Cathal Forde (Corinthian RFC/Connacht), Hubert Gilvarry (Sligo RFC/Connacht), Aaron Leahy (Garryowen RFC/Munster), James Humphreys (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster), Conor McKee (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster), George Saunderson (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster), Eoin de Buitlear (Corinthians RFC/Connacht), Mark Donnelly (Garryowen RFC/Munster), Jack Kelleher (UCC RFC/Munster), Reuben Crothers (Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster), Oisin McCormack (Buccaneers RFC/Connacht), Alex Kendellen (UCC RFC/Munster), Oscar Egan (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster), Liam Bishop (Nottingham RFC/IQ Rugby).

Leinster ‘A’: Rob Russell, Donal Conroy, Marcus Kiely, David Hawkshaw (Captain), Josh O’Connor, Tim Corkery, Cormac Foley, Michael Milne, John McKee (11678), Vakh Abdaladze, Mark Morrissey, Ryan Baird, Martin Moloney, Aaron Coleman, Mark Boyle. Replacements: Dan Sheehan, Marcus Hanan/Temi Lasisi, Greg McGrath, Ruairi Clarke, Will Reilly, Harry Colbert.

Similar stories

The Annual Cricket Match Verses The College Will Take Place On Friday the 23rd of June at the College. More...

Peter Rolston (11176) receiving the Allison Cup. presented by the OC Society President Chris McNally

Over 50 golfers competed for the Allison Cup on Friday 19th May 2023 at The Royal Belfast Golf Club. More...

The OC Society's Annual Golf Outing at The Royal Belfast Golf Club will take place on Friday 19th May 2023. More...

OC Wolfhound Will Hopefully Be Flying The Flag Next Year. More...

OC XI versus The CCB 1st XI Cricket Club. More...

Most read

Dawn to Dusk 5am-10pm Monday 24th June

Support us on 24th June as 7 house teams battle it out to win points for the House Trophy and raise much needed funds for Campbell's new sports facili… More...

Welcome to the fourth in our series of CCB Player Profiles featuring James, Captain of the CCB 1st XV Rugby Team. Play your part and make a donation t… More...

Have your say

This website is powered by