Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.

News > College > Medallion Shield Winners 2020

Medallion Shield Winners 2020

The College Won The 2020 Danske Bank Ulster Schools’ Medallion Shield, After Defeating RBAI By 20-15 On The 10th March.
13 Mar 2020

Campbell had the lion’s share of the territory and were first to put points on the board through Lukas Kenny after sustained pressure from the Campbell side. Jamie MacLean landed the conversion.

RBAI were quick to reply through a Josh Eagleson penalty, narrowing the gap to four points.

On the 28th minute, Campbell’s Jay Davis produced an excellent solo try, chipping the ball over the Inst defence and collecting the loose ball on the bounce over the try line. Jamie MacLean’s tricky touchline conversion effort just brushed off the outside of the left post.

Half-time score: Campbell College Belfast 12 Royal Belfast Academical Institution 3

RBAI looked close to scoring eight minutes into the second half, but excellent Campbell counter-rucking forced a penalty five metres from their line, and Jamie MacLean was able to kick to touch.

Campbell soon extended their lead through a confident Jamie MacLean penalty from the 22-metre line.

Inst started to find their way back into the game when Rory Ellerby scored after putting together some good phases. Josh Eagleson’s conversion attempt went just to the right of the posts.

Despite a period of Inst possession in the final few minutes of play, it was Campbell who stretched their lead when Matthew Booth stretched out to score in the left-hand corner.

Deep into injury time however, RBAI fought back through captain Jacob Boyd, powering over to the left of the Campbell posts, and Josh Eagleson slotting the conversion.

Inst continued to fight hard in the final phases, but they were unable to snatch victory from the Campbell side, who win the competition for the fourth time in the Shield’s history.

Full-time score: Campbell College Belfast 20 Royal Belfast Academical Institution 15

Courtesy of Ulster Rugby

Similar stories

Myles Nelson

A Message From The OC Society President Myles Nelson (7024). More...

The Annual Remembrance Service Will Take Place At The College On Monday The 11th Of November 2019. Please Inform The Soc… More...

The Americas Branch of the OC Society gathered on the 4th and 5th October in New York City to celebrate the College’s 12… More...

New Boarding Extension Adjacent to Fox's Field

The New Boarding Extension Was Handed Over To The College On Friday 14th June 2019. More...

Most read

Professor Chris Young (7054)

Congratulations Professor Chris Young (7054, who has been elected as Master of St Edmund's College, Cambridge. More...

A final update from Michael Johnston (6875), Johnston Houston and Mark Hanna, Mascott Construction as they hand over the keys to CCB's state-of-the-ar… More...

Have your say

This website is powered by